Whole30 Day 1

10 Apr

Most friends and family know this already, I’m getting married in September! wahoo! right?! Well part of my wedding planning has been to get in shape. I’ve been working on getting in shape for the last 5 months… only have i really been working on it? Heck no! I love my sweets too much (britton can attest to that). So about 2 weeks ago, my good friend and colleague Meghan sent me the link to the Whole30 challenge (http://whole9life.com/category/whole-30/).  The principle behind the Whole30 is to spend 30 days eating a mostly Paleo diet. Eat meat, vegetables and some fruits… no processed foods, no sugar, no legumes, no dairy (except for eggs), no white potatoes (which is more a matter of how you eat them), and last but not least, no alcohol.  The alcohol part, not a big deal for me, i barely drink these days anyway.

I spent a few days reading up on Paleo diets and the Whole30.  Meghan and I both decided to start the diet on the Monday after Easter (easier for me because she is traveling this week and I am home with britton).  I wanted to get my 30 days in before my May trips.  I will continue to eat healthy and make smart food choices but don’t really want to worry about what I can and can’t eat and what I can and can’t drink while I am in Boston and New Orleans in May. This is not the kind of thing you can cheat.  They say you need to give your body 30 days to heal from the years of abuse.  So starting yesterday I am a whole30 participant. And here is how it went.

Day 1 was not difficult.  I started out the morning with 2 eggs scrambled with about 1/4 C of baby spinach, seasoned with salt and pepper.  Britton is in town so I made him some too, he is sort of doing this with me, when he is in town at least…  I packed some carrots into my bag hoping they may get me through the day as I hadn’t been able to prepare anything Whole30 approved for lunch.  This was my main stresser for the day.  Find lunch that fit the diet.  I thought about it and decided I should pock up a roasted chicken from HyVee.  So for lunch I had a leg and a thigh, sans the skin and fat with most of the carrots I packed for the day.  I was definitely doing well!

Before I could make dinner, I needed supplies.  I had britton start cooking while I went grocery shopping where I picked up more meat and veggies than I have ever seen in my cart at once!  I threw in some Whole30 approved fats (coconut oil cooking spray) and searched the supermarket for some good enough shrimp.  I had planned out my meals for the week before going to the store just to make sure I was getting everything I needed.  Once done, I headed home to finish our dinner (http://paleodietlifestyle.com/olive-garlic-lemon-chicken/).  Paired our chicken with some steamed broccoli and wah-la, I had my first Paleo day! Now only 29 more to go 🙂

Leave a Reply

