day 2 of my challenge

11 Apr

So far the whole 30 challenge is not kicking my butt.  I did however get a headache I couldn’t shake yesterday. Subtle, but there nonetheless…  I started my morning off right with an egg bake I made Monday night. best.idea.ever. Should last the whole week if Britton doesn’t chow down too much.  I meant to take a photo but forgot (2 days in a row I’ve forgotten…) but it is filled with deliciousness:

  • 8 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of cooked breakfast sausage (I used mild pork sausage)
  • 1/2 cup of cooked chopped broccoli
  • 1/2 cup of baby portabella mushrooms
  • dash of cumin
  • salt and pepper

I mixed all ingredients in a large bowl, poured into a greased 8×8 glass pyrex and baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Delicious.  It was a nice morning too, Britton home so we could eat breakfast together. love that. doesn’t happen often either.

Lunch I had leftovers from Monday night, and it was great even reheated!  I was asked to have lunch with a candidate on campus so I was the odd ball out not having campus food. I am not going to lie, their pizza and quesadillas looked amazing.  The smell alone had me salivating!  But I resisted, ate my lunch, had a banana and broc for sides.  It was a glorious lunch with the candidate and a colleague.  I usually eat in my office while catching up on hulu tv (which I actually love to do).

Throughout the day I was searching on paleo and whole30 blogs for more recipes and I went a little crazy about it. I think I pinned 20 recipes for different delicious menu items for the next 28 days!  Even if I don’t make them all, it gets me to think about healthier options after my 30 days is up.

We took a chance on dinner last night so we could bring food over to some friends that just had a baby.  We got chick fil a… I know what you’re thinking, there’s no way that’s Whole30 approved! Well you’re right and wrong. I had a kids meal with grilled chicken nuggets, fruit and unsweet tea.  I brought along some sugar snap peas as my veggie side.

All in all, it was a good day. I am hopeful that the headaches won’t last too long…

One Response to “day 2 of my challenge”

  1. girlmeetspaleo April 11, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Pinning is addicting! I’m on day three of my challenge as well, and the headaches finally kicked in :-/ can’t wait for the cravings to be gone!

Leave a Reply

