Whole30 Weekend

16 Apr

So I hate being on my computer over the weekends so Mondays will be long!

Friday:

Good day for Whole30, I had leftovers for breakfast and lunch but made delicious shrimp scampi for dinner!  Found the recipe here http://caughtsomewhereinthyme.blogspot.com/2012/01/shrimp-scampi-with-little-head-of.html.  I made pasta for britton and used 1 zucchini turned into spaghetti for myself.  I bought this amazing tool last week so that I could easily(ish) turn my zucchini into thin strings. Bought this baby on Amazon and i LOVE it!

Joyce Chen 51-0662 Saladacco Spiral Slicer

The shrimp scampi was a big hit and I have already thought of some ways to make it better the next time I do it.  I also have to figure out how to get all the extra water out of the zucchini after I cook it… Anyone have any suggestions?

After dinner Britton and I went to the Sioux City Conservatory of Music to listen to his friend do a set.  This place was amazing.  The conservatory is a place for children and adults to take private music lessons and hone their musical skills.  I am  considering becoming a member and joining their adult choir called Sing, Sing, Sing.  They even rent out the space for events so I’m keeping it in my brain for a possibility for our Iowa reception after the wedding!  Anyway, Britton’s friend Alex and another employee of the conservatory were the opener to a local Omaha band called Sky Piper.  They were all fantastic!

Saturday:

This day was a little riskier than others in terms of my diet.  Britton and I were heading to Omaha Saturday to do dinner with some friends of his and stay the night.  Britton had an early flight out of town on Sunday.  On our way out of town we stopped at Jimmy John’s where I ordered a turkey and roast beef “unwich.”  For anyone that isn’t a frequent JJ patron, an unwich is a sandwich wrapped in lettuce opposed to a hunk of bread.  I stuck with the basics on this one and left out the mayo to make it more or less, Whole30 feasible.  We ate on the road in the midst of a crazy storm that was whizzing through the Midwest that day.  Tornado had been spotted in northern Kansas and we were also in a tornado watch with this storm.  But we braved it and headed down to Omaha.

Once we made it to our hotel in Omaha we also discovered the hard way that there was a Jimmy Buffet concert that night at the CenturyLink Center.  There were drunken adults all over our hotel with their Tommy Bahama shirts on and stuffed parrots on their shoulders.  People all over were complaining that their rooms hadn’t been cleaned or their rooms keys weren’t working… I turned to Britton and told him we needed to get the hell out of there and find a new hotel… And that’s just what we did.  We ended up staying further from the airport but closer to Britton’s friends and the area we were planning on spending most of our time anyway.

We met up with his friends Augie and Steph who are also planning a wedding, and headed out to Bonefish Grill for dinner.  I told the waitress almost immediately that I couldn’t eat anything cooked in butter so she worked with the cooks to make sure that could be accommodated.  Britton and I started off with a scallop appetizer.  I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass with sides of mixed veggies and broccoli (It really doesn’t get much more boring).  The fish especially was to die for.  It was cooked to perfection.  I had mine sans any sauces and they lightly seasoned the fish. Delicious!

After dinner Britton and I hit up my favorite target. Anyone that knows me knows how much I love target.  We each got bathing suits so we could spend a little time relaxing in the hotel hot tub.  Little did we know, the pool area came equip with screaming children that night.

Sunday:

I was up bright and early to drive Britton to the airport on Sunday but after dropping him off, went back to the hotel to sleep a little longer.  Once I woke up I headed down to free breakfast in the hotel and had an omelet made with onions, tomatoes and mushrooms.  It was delightful.  I left the hotel and headed on to Whole Foods which was my favorite part about our frequent visits to Omaha!  I stocked up on a bunch of paleo items to get me through the next few weeks and beyond.  Picked up some all natural fruits and veggies, some organic chicken thighs, key west fresh pink shrimp, some mahi mahi filets and some tilapia.  Oh I love fish!  I also got some other essentials, more organic sugar free peanut butter, coconut oil (which is not like any oil I’ve ever used) and some additional seasonings.  I really wish we had a Whole Foods in Sioux City or at least something like it.

Got home around noon and made some lefotvers for lunch.  Last night’s dinner though was a great one.  I made some delightful Paleo Mini Burgers with Guacamole.  I adapted a recipe I found on Recipe Warrior.  The burgers went like this:

Ingredients

  • 1 pound lean ground beef or other meat of choice
  • coconut or olive oil- for cooking
  • 1/4 small onion- grated
  • 1/2 small zucchini- grated
  • 1/2 small carrot- grated
  • 2 cloves garlic- crushed

DIRECTIONS

  1. heat oil in frying pan
  2. put meat of choice in a large mixing bowl
  3. grate onion, zucchini, carrot and garlic and combine
  4. mix thoroughly- using your hands works best here
  5. form small balls with mixture and then flatten into mini patties
  6. cook on medium heat, alternating sides for 10-12 minutes or until cooked
  7. top with guacamole

My uncooked patties

Frying in coconut oil

Complete with Guacamole!

Had my burgers with a side of broccoli and it was amazing.  Can’t wait for the leftovers later this week!  Ta ta for now!

One Response to “Whole30 Weekend”

  1. Joni April 16, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    you’re doing great, sweetie!

Leave a Reply

