CrossFit

19 Apr

I have been incredibly impressed with myself over the last week+.   Against all recommendations, I did not clear my apartment out of all things that I am not allowed to eat.  It would be have been very hard since Britton is not participating with me.  There is even a bowl full of Easter candy sitting right next to my couch and I haven’t had or even touched one.  Now this may seem crazy but on the phone with my sister this morning I told her it’s almost more rewarding to say to myself that I have the self control.  I’m not bound to eating healthy because that’s all that I have in my apartment, I have plenty of things I can’t eat.  Instead I make the conscious decision not to break down and eat a hand full of jelly beans or make my favorite snack, popcorn.  I am more impressed with myself knowing that I can resist the urge.  I joke about it with my colleagues when they grab a cookie out of the MUC and eat it in front of me, but it makes me proud to know that those cookies are sitting right down stairs for free, and I don’t go down and eat one.

So since I am doing well with the Whole30 part of my lifestyle change, I also decided to start doing CrossFit.  I don’t think that part of the change will be as easy as the food part.  On Tuesday night I had my preliminary fitness test and the Day 1 workout.  They took measurements, had to weigh in and then began the hard parts.  I started with a 1.5 mile run.  I am not a runner.  Even when I was in the best shape of my life, a player on the women’s lacrosse team, I still could not run distance (even though really a mile is hardly anything).  It took me over 19 minutes to complete that part. pathetic.  Then I went on to do push ups, bench press and sit ups.  I would say those weren’t so bad, better than I expected in fact.  My trainer also had to teach me some of the basic moves they use a lot in the CrossFit classes.  Some of these things I already knew and needed a refresher on like the Kettle Bell Swing and dead life.  We did a few other things with kettle bells and I tried to dead lift just the bar… that was heavy.

After the basics were covered I did my Day 1 set.  That consisted of 3 sets of 15 V-Ups, 15 Squats and 15 Kettle Bell Swings.  I was still struggling to catch my breath after my run so none of the workout came easy to me.  I was huffing and puffing from the moment I began.  My toes were cramping like you would not believe and they didn’t stop cramping until I was home.  They didn’t even time me because I was so pathetic but I finished and that’s all that counts.  Day 1 was hard and I know that won’t get easier for at least a while.  I worked late last night so I was unable to train but Friday I will be back.  My plan is to get in at least 4 of the 5 workouts every week.  Training days are Monday, Tuesday Wednesday, Friday and Saturday leaving Thursday and Sunday as rest days.  Can’t wait to see what else I can accomplish over the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

