small projects

16 Jul

Now that we have our house painted (FINALLY!) I’ve been wanting to get some things done inside the house to make it feel more homey.  I promised Britton only small projects until September so these are just some little things.  There was one perk last weekend that we didn’t even have to physically do to make the house more homey.  Our couches were delivered!!  Only 1 month late!  We were also supposed to receive a new chair for the living room but that was damaged in transit so I’m sure we’ll be waiting another 2 months for that baby…

blue couch

Basement Sectional

yellow couch

Living Room

Last Sunday we came home from 9 holes of golf and Britton and Greg fixed our pocket door!  So, this pocket door, it’s been broken since we moved in.  Apparently the family of 5 before didn’t care that there was no barrier between the ONLY bathroom in the house and their master bedroom… I don’t know how you live like that.  We’ve felt so bad for our guests when they’ve come to visit because the only privacy came from a curtain.  In order to get that fixed we did have to punch a hole in the wall to get to the mechanisms that the pocket door sit on but I decided it was a small price to pay for privacy.  My parents are coming today and that was high on my priority list for that to be fixed.

pocket door

After the pocket door Britton said, ok, I’m done with house projects.  So I said, “well just help me see if these faux wood blinds will fit in the window and then you can relax.  I’ll put them up, you just help me see if they will work.”  In the process of checking out how to make the blinds fit into the big front window I think Britton got excited.  We had purchased two different sizes to try in two different windows just to see how they fit.  Didn’t want to buy all that we wanted until we knew if we liked them. Within half an hour we had both blinds up thanks to Britton’s help!

photo 5

I searched for wood blinds for weeks before I came across these that are in stock at Home Depot in every possible size and they range in price from $25 to $35 a piece!  How can we beat that!  And we LOVE them! So this past weekend we bought the rest for our living room and the master bedroom and installed them all on Sunday!

home depot blinds

Last week I came across a post from Young House Love where they did some work on their old wood floors with a product called Rejuvenate.  Britton and I love having wood floors but ours are very dingy so I thought we should give rejuvenate a try!  For less than $20 a bottle we really couldn’t go wrong!  You can see the difference between the hallway and the bedroom!  Its awesome!

photo 2

After the floors we tore out the chair rail in our dining room and found a few lovely surprises.  We hated the chair rail though so it needed to come down.  photo 3

I instagramed these pictures titling it the good, the bad and the ugly.  On all of the new construction in the kitchen, the chair rail came off super easy!  Other parts, around the corners of things it ripped some holes in the top layer of the wall.  At some point, the chair rail was put up directly on top of some wallpaper.  Its pretty awesome.  We have some more work to do to get that space prepped for paint but at least this step is done.

Leave a Reply

