Day 1 European Vacation: 17 hours of travel

8 Oct

Back in early spring Britton and I decided it was time for our first European vacation.  What better way to celebrate our 2 year anniversary!  I have said since we met that I had to see Greece before we could have kids and, well, he clearly can’t wait for that to happen so our vacation was booked.  We decided on a Mediterranean cruise to be able to see the most sites with as little planning as possible.  I had done a Royal Caribbean cruise when I graduated from High School and their Mediterranean cruises looked to be reasonably priced, stopped at great ports and received high ratings on cruise critic so that’s the line we went with.  We picked the cruise that left from Venice Italy, sailed to Dubrovnik Croatia, Kusadasi Turkey, Santorini and Katakalon Greece ending again in Venice.  It was basically, my dream vacation (literally too because I’ve been dreaming about Greece since I was a freshman in college).

The cruise was booked in maybe April with flights booked soon after.  We are lucky enough (catch 22) that Britton travels so much that we could use southwest points to book an international flight to Italy.  I spent MONTHS looking at the different ports, hotels in Milan (that’s where we flew into) and Venice, and all the excursions both cruise line sponsored and not.  It really became my obsession in anticipation of this impending vacation.

Finally this trip came to fruition and we left Sioux City, IA on the night of September 24 to stay in Omaha the night before our early morning flight out of the states.  Since I had been dreaming of this trip for so long, it became hard to dream at all in the days leading up to the trip.  I woke up at an early 4 am and got ready to leave for the airport that Thursday morning keeping my fingers crossed I could sleep on the long haul flight across the Atlantic.  Our day consisted of a 2 hour flight to Atlanta where we had a 4 hour layover(barf!), a 2 hour flight to New York and an 8 hour flight to Milan.  Much to my dismay I was unable to sleep on that long haul flight and instead watched a few movies, played a few rounds of candy crush and had a few short naps before we flew over the Alps in France which were breathtaking.  IMG_0185We arrived in Milan at 7:45 am and I was too excited to be tired!  We went through customs, grabbed our bags and set out to find the Milano Centrale Station which was a 45 minute train ride away from the airport.  In the station we came across our first food market that was just adorable.  It reminded me of the Chelsea Market in NYC and had amazing fresh foods, cheeses and beverages for us to enjoy as we waited for our train out to Venice.IMG_0194The train to Venice was about 2.5 hours long and we were seated next to another American couple.  Britton slept while I read and watched the scenery go by.  Amazingly enough, I was still not tired even though I had been up for a full 24 hours by this point.  Once we arrived in Venice we mapped our way to our hotel and took the 15 minute walk through crowds of people with our luggage to the hotel.  We only had to cross 3 bridges but the cobblestone made the walk very interesting.

DSC_0275

After we got into the hotel we showered up and made our way out for our first day of touring around Venice.  We walked a lot of steps and had some amazing food!  It was just what we had hoped for and we couldn’t wait to see what else lie ahead on the trip!

DSC_0295DSC_0301Stay tuned for more posts from the next 10 days of the trip! Ciao!

2 Responses to “Day 1 European Vacation: 17 hours of travel”

  1. Marshall Jackson October 8, 2014 at 5:02 pm #

    Pictures are gorgeous. Especially this Alps. I am so looking forward to chapter 2.

  2. Auntie Sydney October 8, 2014 at 5:50 pm #

    Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

