Gallery Wall Project

9 Jun

I’ve officially been in our new house now for 6 months and some days I feel like we’ve accomplished so much, while others, I feel like we have so much to do.  And now that I am working again it leaves even less time for projects despite having more $ to do them!

One of my pride and joys is my gallery wall.  We had one in the house in Iowa and I was worried that this house wouldn’t have a good spot for us to continue the tradition.  I need not worry.  There is the perfect space for a gallery wall, right when you walk through the front doors!  Pictures were hard to take because its in a long hallway but most people that come to the house are in love with the gallery wall 🙂

I’ll walk you through my process.

The first step for me is getting all the prints out together on the floor and sort of planning out a pattern for the art and prints that I had.  Not every piece of art would fit on this one wall so I had to decide what would go in the main hallway and what would be moved into other rooms and other walls.

IMG_0587[1]Since we had just moved, we still had a lot of the paper that all of our valuables were wrapped up in.  I mean, we had TONS of wrapping paper (and not the Christmas kind.)  I used a few of these pieces of paper to create paper versions of all of our artwork that we wanted to include in the gallery wall.  You could use any old paper if you go that route and it made the project easier to lay out on the wall.

After all of the pieces of my giant puzzle were cut out I then worked on assembling them on the space in the hallway.  I started with a focal point, which was a large print from our wedding, taken at night.  from there I branched out in all directions mixing in different types of pieces to give the wall a more natural feel.  There are photo prints from our wedding, canvases with lovely quotes and pieces of artwork that have been accumulated from our various vacations.  I was trying really hard not to have two similar pieces next to each other.

IMG_0589[1]

After all of my paper pseudo art was up on the wall I went around and started putting nails into the walls.  I planned out ahead of time where the hooks would be in the paper cut outs so that I wouldn’t have to guess when it came time to put the nails in the wall.  I used a mix of gorilla hooks and nails to get everything up on the walls and I would have used ONLY gorilla hooks had there not been a few blocks in the wall making that impossible.

After all the anchors were in I went to putting the actual art up on the walls.  This was my first big project and I did it almost all on my own.  Britton had to help with a few hooks and nails but all in all, I was on my own while he worked away in his office (on the other side of the wall.)

IMG_2159[1] IMG_2158[1]I’m awfully proud of this project and did little gallery walls throughout the house to make room for the rest of our art.  I suppose we have a lot.

4 Responses to “Gallery Wall Project”

  1. Kendra G. June 11, 2015 at 3:15 pm #

    Oh I love it!! You need to come over and help me, we have several pieces but haven’t committed actually putting them on the wall yet!

    • steelewall June 11, 2015 at 3:42 pm #

      Anytime Kendra! I love hanging stuff 🙂

  2. Laura Wright June 16, 2015 at 8:30 pm #

    Love this! Can I hire you to come decorate my house! Love your style!

    • steelewall June 17, 2015 at 7:42 am #

      Heck yea Laura! How is your house coming?

Leave a Reply

