RAST Hack

28 Jun

In our guest room we were in need of more storage.  Doesn’t everyone need more storage??  So Britton found some small dressers for us to turn into night stands for the bedroom to provide more functionality to an otherwise dull piece of furniture.

RAST 3 Drawer Chest

The furniture was unfinished from ikea and to match the decor of the room we decided to stain it.  I started the project when Britton was out of town and had some pretty grand plans.  I think it’s important to note, I did all the work on this project on my own.

I wanted to jazz up the pieces and discard the plain wooden handles that came with it and add some fun handles instead.  I purchased different knobs for each drawer.  I did some searching for knobs.  We are big fans (mostly me) of Adjectives Market in Altamonte Springs and I had noticed the last few times that they were selling odds and ends from another local store called Hinge.  Hinge is a vintage hardware store and let me tell you, I was in love from the moment I walked through the doors.  I’m an old soul and love antiques and vintage finds.  This store blew me away!  I found a set of four yellow knobs that started the process for my knob search.

I found two other sets of knobs on etsy stores, Shabbrustic Chic and diychicgirl, one set was also vintage and another was new but had an old feel like glass.  Once I had all my supplies I got to work.

Knobs

To prep the furniture, I laid all the pieces out on the porch outside and sanded them a little to make the surface smooth for staining.  The next step was to prep the wood with the pre stain.  This sits for only about 30 minutes before it is ready for the stain.  We used the Miniwax Water Based stain in slate.

My first drawer face was tricky…  In the directions it says the stain should stay on for 1 to 5 minutes.  It was nearly impossible to wipe any stain off after even a minute so drawer face number one is darker than the rest, but I learned from my mistake.  My goal was to have the natural wood grain bleed through the stain so I didn’t want it to be a solid grey stain.

IMG_0912The rest of the pieces went perfectly, I would slather the stain on and wipe it off almost immediately to give it a slight stain of the grey color.  After all the pieces were finished I waited 3 hours to apply a finishing top coat.  I opted for the spray can style top coat for easy and quick application.  I applied two layers of the top coat to ensure that it was properly coated.

The following day, after the furniture had dried sufficiently I put the pieces together.  I have a strange love of putting furniture together and this was even more fun because I knew I had made it the beautiful pieces that they became.  It was especially exciting, once they were all put together, to add the specialized knobs to each drawer.

RAST Hack

The finished product in our guest room was perfect and I couldn’t be happier with our first Ikea hack!

IMG_1149

One Response to “RAST Hack”

  1. Laura June 28, 2015 at 8:22 pm #

    Very cute Ashley!

Leave a Reply

