you, me and karl the fog

26 Aug

Back to our travel log.  Britton and decided to extend our vacation after Tahoe and check out the sites and sounds of San Francisco.  On our way there we decided to take a pit stop outside the city and stay a night in San Rafael.  We drove for 3+ hours and couldn’t wait to see what Muir Woods had in store for us.  As we got close to Muir Woods so did the fog, karl the fog that is.  It made me nervous 1. because the winding roads that lead to the national park was mostly covered in a dense fog and 2. I was afraid it would make for a gloomy experience in Muir Woods.  Regarding point #1, it was terrifying so my nervousness was completely warranted.  I think I kept my eyes closed while britton navigated the switchbacks.  Regarding point #2, no need to worry. Our walk through the forest of unbelievably tall trees was AMAZING! I could share my hundred photos with you but that would make this post incredibly long so I will refrain for your sake.

IMG_2790 IMG_2799 IMG_2835 IMG_2833Following the woods, we made our way to the Muir Beach.  It was overcast but there were still plenty of people out there enjoying the sound of the waves along the rocky shoreline.  It really was beautiful!

IMG_2830 IMG_2834The next morning we were up early and ready to make our way into the city.  We had to drive all the way down to the airport to drop off our car before we could explore the city.  It was the only time we crossed the golden gate bridge and sadly, karl was there as well.

IMG_2851Once we made it to the airport and back to the hotel we set out to conquer my to do list which was extensive.  We started out at pier 39 and I wanted to say hello to those friendly sea lions!

IMG_2855We stopped at Boudin’s for lunch as it was highly recommended.  The grilled cheese was FANTASTIC!

IMG_2856Next on the list was a jaunt over to Lombard Street which was absolutely packed with tourists.  I knew it would be busy but whatever route we took to get there was almost completely people-less so I was shocked when we got there.  It was so pretty though with the hydrangeas blooming in front of every house.  I would NOT want to live there but it was quite beautiful!

IMG_2864 IMG_2872Next, we realized we were not dressed for the weather as I was expecting it to be much cooler so we made the trek back to our hotel so we could freshen up, relax our feet and change into some more comfortable clothing.  On our way there we walked through Chinatown and stopped in a few shops.

IMG_2868After we had cooled off a bit we headed back towards the pier as I was desperate to check out the Ferry Building Marketplace. OMG. I was in love. Can I just live in this market forever?  Food, wine, shops. It was perfection!

IMG_2873After the market we decided to take a serious walk up to a bakery that I had seen on a list of “things to eat before you die” and we were going to enjoy the Russian Honey Cake from 20th Century Cafe.  The place was perfect.  Another moment where I was just like “can I live in this bakery forever?”

IMG_2880We headed back to the hotel after our late afternoon snack to rest up before dinner.  I had made reservations months ago at a place called Wayfare Tavern.  The restaurant had an old timey, upper class, southern feel and the food was right on par.  It was delicious.  I ordered the fried chicken and we shared sides of creamed corn (with popcorn on top!) and potatoes.  The meal was decadent and we never could have finished it without having to be rolled out of the restaurant!  But it was amazing and if I’m ever back in San Francisco I know I will be going back!

IMG_2887 IMG_2890OMG this post is already 663 words long and I’ve included WAY too many photos!  I think the second half of this trip will have to wait for another day 🙂  Hope you’ve enjoyed being on our journey in San Fransisco, I know I’ve enjoyed reliving it!

Leave a Reply

