A Coat of Paint

21 Sep

It’s amazing to me how something so simple can change a house so much!  When we first saw our house online, I didn’t mind the colors on the walls.  They went well with the previous owners furniture.  After I lived here for 2 minutes, I hated them.  We noticed early on that the color on the walls was much like… baby poop.  And it all looked the same from the hallway to the dining room to the living room.  But once we started patching small holes and trying to match the paint they left us, we realized, the living room was a few shades darker, baby poop with a hint of olives.  The color did not AT ALL go with our decor or the look we have going.

We did a lot of painting in our last house.  We had white in our living room, yellow pretty much everywhere else, we even had the honor of completely repainting the exterior of our old house (oh so fun…) and this house I wanted to be different.  I loved our yellow walls and even have yellow in the master bedroom of this new house, but I wanted a change from my tried and true.  So it took me months to decide on a color palette.  Every time we were at Lowes or Home Depot I would grab a hundred more paint chips and drag them around the house.

Finally I did some research to see what colors looked good with big red cabinets (I have two red cabinets, one of which is the focal point in our dining room).  All signs pointed to a shade of blue.  And so I picked up some samples of some of my favorites and got to work.

We painted the living room first, on a Sunday, and my dad came over to help me and Britton.  This was the easiest space to complete and having done the living room, i didn’t feel pressure to do anything else just yet.  I could let it sit for a while without the house looking like a complete mess.  I knew that once I moved around the walls of that room, we would have to get it all done and fast!

IMG_2552Once I left my job to pursue a new one I ended up with a few weeks of free time.  It seemed to be the perfect opportunity for me to knock out an overhaul in our house and that’s just what I did!  I posted a few times in my Friday I’m In Love posts how much I love our new paint, one coat is all our ugly, poop brown walls needed and it was perfect for me to be able to do on my own.  We went from drab to fab in a week and I only needed minimal help from Britton to get it completed.

Entrance hallway before and afterIMG_0596

20150805_214219833_iOSDining room and red cabinet before and after

IMG_0471IMG_3718Wine cabinet and kitchen before and after

IMG_0492IMG_3717

Bedroom hallway before and after

IMG_1150IMG_3719It was a lot of work but SO worth it.  Just days after painting it I felt like this was how our house should have always been.  As though I hadn’t just spent HOURS making it that way!  I love it!

Leave a Reply

