Chalk Paint Redo

27 Oct

Hello friends!  A few weeks ago I took on a small project to see how I liked the whole chalk paint craze… I’m In!

I bought a few pieces of furniture a few years back from Brittons grandpa when he moved to Franklin, TN.  I have a soft spot for vintage furniture and probably would have taken more of his stuff if I had had the space back then.  But instead I took only a kitchen table and a side table, both from my father in laws childhood days.  I redid the cushions on the dining room chairs years ago and it was finally time to redo the side table too.

IMG_3726

To start, I had to pick a paint color that I liked.  For a few weeks I was spending a lot of time at Adjectives Market in Altamonte and it gave me a chance to decide on a color.  We have blues in our living room with some accents of grey and coral.  I decided on Annie Sloan’s Paris Grey for the side table and purchased a small can of the clear wax.  I had plenty of brushes at home so luckily I didn’t have to purchase those too.

The side table had some water damage from spilled waters and condensation so I started by lightly sandpapering the table to even out some of the damaged spots.

IMG_3727

The next step was to paint the piece with the Paris Grey Paint.  I decided to do 2 coats to ensure it was well covered.  One of the great things about this paint is that it dries pretty fast.  I waited about 30 minutes between my two coats.  I had some trouble painting the lower shelf of the side table mostly because the handle of the paint brush was too long!

IMG_3728

After the paint dried I coated the side table with clear wax that I applied with an old hand towel.  The wax, unlike the paint, takes a little more time to set.  Before I set the side table back in its corner, I let it sit out for 24 hours before putting it back in it’s place.

IMG_3731

I really didn’t know what to do about the gold handle so I found some craft paint and painted it white.  I’m still searching for a handle that’s a little more interesting but this will do for now!

IMG_4127

I’m totally in love with the new and improved side table.  And it was so easy that I can’t wait to paint some more furniture!  Have you chalk painted any old furniture?  I’m trying to decide what to do next 🙂

Leave a Reply

