Swifties for a Night

3 Nov

I hestiate to write this post because, lets be honest, Britton and I make a point to go to as many shows as possible.  And how can I make a decision to write about THIS show and not all the others (because lets face it, we go to bomb ass shows.) But this one was unlike any other.  Probably because its the first pop artist show I’ve been to maybe ever.  And it was TSwift… a MONSTER of an artist on SO many levels.  To do this post, I have to make a point here.  My husband attended with me.  I saw a few husbands and a lot of dads but really, how amazing is it that I didn’t have to find a girl friend to go with me because my husband is so awesome he went with me (somewhat begrudgingly) and he enjoyed it!

IMG_4169

We drove all the way to Tampa for the show, we realized on our way there we have yet to actually see a show in Orlando. We saw Hozier in Jacksonville, Imagine Dragons in Miami and now Taylor Swift in Tampa.  We’ve literally been all over the map of Florida for concerts and we have our first one in 10 months of living here, in Orlando this weekend.  Kinda crazy.  But we’ve also been known to fly all the way from Iowa to Nashville to see Imagine Dragons on their first tour.  So in the scheme of things, Jacksonville, Miami and Tampa aren’t all that far.

We checked into our hotel which was a 1.5 mile walk from Raymond James Stadium which is where Taylor Swift’s sold out show was.  We got ready quickly and walked to a nearby restaurant for some grub before the show.  We definitley needed sustenance before our long hot walk to the stadium and the long hot dance party that followed.

Pre Taylor Swift Mojito

Pre Taylor Swift Mojito

Once we finally got to the stadium I would call the scene complete chaos.  Since it was halloween there were people dressed up all over the place.  Many show goers were dressed as Meredith and Olivia, Swift’s two cats (if you didn’t already know that.)  As we walked through the gates we were given light up wrist bands. I hesitated to pull the little plastic strip protecting it from use but then thought to myself…. I wonder if Taylor will be controlling these…

We piled through the crowds and found our seats which really weren’t that bad.  lower level corner so we wouldn’t have to strain our necks but still somewhat far from the stage.  This is one of the first shows I’ve been to that almost every seat was filled DURING the first of two opening acts.  First we heard Shawn Mendez who is a 17 yearold heartthrob.  If I was still 17 I would have wanted to find his tour bus and become a groupie.

IMG_4153

Next we saw Vance Joy who is an artist that is way more up our alley.  We hear his music on XM alt nation daily.  He and his whole band dressed in costume which was pretty fun!  Vance Joy is Australian so I was in heaven everytime he stopped singing to chat with the crowd… swoon…

IMG_4159

And then… came… Taylor Swift.  I think i’m in love (in a purely friendship kinda way obvi.)  I was right about the wrist bands. As soon as she came out on the stage singing Welcome to New York the wrist bands began to light up to the beat of the music. WHAT?!?!? How freaking cool is that.  And it wasn’t like they lit up only one color either, they were packed with many diffenent colors and across the stadium they were not in unison.  They were all coordinated perfectly all across the 55,000 people in the stadium.

IMG_4162

Taylor has been known to bring special guests out on the stage at various concerts across the United States.  We were lucky eough to be at her last show in the US so I knew we would get a guest or two but it was hard to predict who it would be.  Our first guest was Allesia Cara, who I hadn’t heard of before but will definitely be buying her album.  You can see some clips of her performance and read a little more about her here.

Our next guest to join Taylor on stage was Idina Menzel.  Pretty much everyone under the sun knows her name.  She’s a star on the broadway stage and more recently, for the movie Frozen.  She joined Taylor on stage and they sang Let It Go! I about died.

Our special guests were both awesome but nothing compares to the magic that is Taylor Swift.  I think she has an amazing voice, she’s an incredible songwriter and a downright nice and genuine person.  During the show she told us that she gave us all wrist bands so she could see all 55000 of us in the stands, so it didn’t feel like she was just singing to a crowd.  That’s pretty cool.  And she told us she follows our instagram accounts (so obviously I tagged her in all of my posts from the show.)  When I hear her talk in interviews and now I’ve seen her in a show, I don’t think this is all about the money and fame.  It really is about music and bringing joy to people.  I love that.

I wasn’t always a Taylor Swift fan, a swiftie.  I’ve known her hits since she started but her 1989 album spoke to me.  I’ve been listening to it since it came out and I don’t tire of the songs.  Even Britton has been singing Taylor Swift songs!  The show was amazing and I’m so glad we went.  It was definitley the experience of a lifetime.

One Response to “Swifties for a Night”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday I’m In Love | steelewall - November 6, 2015

    […] already shared my greatest love for this week and that was for Taylor Swift at her show last weekend.  But […]

Leave a Reply

