Friday I’m in Love

8 Jan

I’ve been totally MIA over the holidays for more reasons than one.  But in an effort to get back on the bandwagon for 2016 blogging I’ll start with a favorite.

#1

20160102_222807000_iOS

Winter weather.  And I’m not talking about Florida’s winter.  Last week we were in Sioux City, IA to celebrate Christmas with the Wall side of the family.  I was hopeful in the weeks prior that we would get lucky with some snow on the ground.  We got even luckier.  We arrived on Saturday night and a snow storm rolled in Sunday evening through Tuesday morning.  It was a snowy paradise the whole week were there and we spent a lot of time playing in it!

#2

20151231_203937043_iOS

Rent the Runway.  If you haven’t heard of this yet, go check it out.  We had a winter wedding to go to on New Years Eve while we were in Sioux City and obviously I don’t have anything to wear to a winter wedding.  So days before we left for our trip I was stalking RTR looking for something appropriate to wear.  THANK GOODNESS I was lucky and they still had some amazing dresses left for me to rent!  This gem was a huge hit and I would have kept it if I had an extra $355 in my bank account 🙂

#3

Children starting charities.  Britton’s cousin’s daughter, Makenzie, and her friends in Kansas City started a 501C3 called Cancel Out Cancer Foundation that hopes to help stop cancer and soothe the pain of families that have been affected by cancer.  Makenzie was a flower girl in our wedding and we are just so proud of the young woman she is becoming!  Check out their go fund me page here.

  #4

20160104_144805000_iOS

Britton’s health.  I don’t know if this falls into the Friday I’m in Love category here but it is definitely something I am grateful for.  3 years ago this week Britton was in surgery and recovery following brain surgery to remove an epidermoid brain tumor.  You can read all about our journey here.  The whole experience, beginning just weeks after we got married, was the hardest thing we’ve faced as a couple (not surprisingly.) Every year in the first weeks of January I look back and I’m thankful for the doctors, the nurses, our family and everyone that supported us through this time.

That’s all for now folks!  Hopefully I will get back on board and get some more posts up about the holidays soon!

2 Responses to “Friday I’m in Love”

  1. Janet Wall January 8, 2016 at 10:47 am #

    We did have fun! Loved having you guys home to play!

  2. Kendra G. January 10, 2016 at 1:02 pm #

    Seriously, that dress is amazing. It looks great on you! I love RTR, it’s so great!

Leave a Reply

