Pinterest Christmas

11 Jan

I know, this is late. But this is when I had time to post!

Christmas 2013 I wanted to make a tree skirt for Christmas.  It was one of those things you think about at Christmas but then forget about making it impossible to get done before the big day.  So this year, now that I live closer to my mom, who is my sewing teacher, I decided to get a head start and bought fabric for a tree skirt over the summer!  Fabric came from Heather Bailey and she was having a sale when I purchased in July.

IMG_3669

We started sewing in September and it took some time.  I decided to turn this project into sewing lessons with my mom.  I’ve been wanting to freshen up my sewing skills so this was the perfect opportunity.  We found the pattern on the Amy Butler site but we didn’t realize at the time that we weren’t exactly following the instructions as I wanted to use both of my fabrics and the instructions called for felt to be the main piece of fabric.  We took a few extra steps by using felt, the red fabric and the backing and binding layer.

IMG_3671IMG_3735

Mom and I got together about 4 times to work on this dang tree skirt.  We also decided to do a ruffle along the edge instead of what the pattern called for.  This was no easy task.  I sewed together what felt like a mile of fabric to prepare it to be ruffled.  My mom ended up doing most of the work on that part of the project.  She is kind of my hero.

IMG_4186

After spending lots of time working on my tree skirt, my mom ended up finishing the skirt so that it was done in time for a Christmas party I was hosting.  As we got closer to Christmas our free time was dwindling and it was getting hard for us to find time to work on it together.

IMG_4700

I love how it turned out but I don’t think I will ever sew my own tree skirt again!

IMG_4766

3 Responses to “Pinterest Christmas”

  1. Meghan January 18, 2016 at 9:51 pm #

    I’ve been telling myself I’ll make a real tree skirt for years. And this is not encouraging me. 😐

    • steelewall January 19, 2016 at 8:16 am #

      Oh no! I am sure there are easier ways to make a tree skirt. We, unfortunately, found a difficult one!

  2. Kendra G. February 12, 2016 at 10:12 am #

    I don’t know how I missed this post, but this is amazing!! Great work!

Leave a Reply

