Coming July 2016

1 Mar

This has been a hard secret to keep from all of my social media and blogging friends but its finally time to make the big announcement!  Britton and I are so happy to announce that our family of two will become a family of three this coming July!

We’ve been saying for about 2 years we wanted to grow our family but it wasn’t until late summer, early fall I was ready to take the plunge.  The story of finding out is kind of a funny one as I just had a hunch about it and took a pregnancy test while Britton was away in the Dominican Republic for business.  The night I took my first test he did not even call as he was out late with business partners.  I was shocked and, quite frankly, questioning our readiness, the moment I saw the word “pregnant” on the test so I called a friend for a second test and then my sister to ball my eyes out as I knew from that moment on life would change forever.

The next day I was meeting Britton in Tallahassee for the FSU homecoming game so I planned a little surprise to tell him the big news.  When he got into Tally late that night I handed him a card and as he read the words he was just as shocked as I was at the news that we were pregnant.

We told my parents at Thanksgiving time, my dad with a sweet “Best Grandpa Ever” mug and for mom we added a high chair to the Thanksgiving dinner table while we all bowed our heads for prayer.  Both were ecstatic as I am the first to be a parent in my family and they’re both ready to be grandparents. Unfortunately, I wasn’t thinking ahead and didn’t get a video or even pictures of the moment.

Fast forward to our 8th week of pregnancy when we first got a chance to see our little chocolate chip and hear the heartbeat.  I  honestly still didn’t believe it was real despite the overwhelming nausea and consistent food aversion I had been experiencing.

20151214_215502000_iOS

We really wanted to tell Britton’s parents until we saw them face to face which meant we had to wait until after Christmas when we were up celebrating the holidays with the whole Wall clan.  We DID think ahead and got video of their reveal and surprise surprise, Janet, was a little confused as so many other grand kids are on the way that she thought the “best grandma and grandpa” onsies must have been for one of the other new coming babies.

As I moved along through the first trimester my worst symptoms were nausea, food aversion and overwhelming exhaustion which lead to frequent naps and a necessary 9 hours of sleep a night.  When I came to the second trimester I hoped to start feeling like me old self again.  I did lose the nausea and for the most part I wasn’t having the same amount of food aversion (although sometimes it sneaks up on me) but I still feel pretty tired all the time.

We decided to have the Harmony genetic test done to make sure Baby Wall was healthy in there as some genetic disorders run in my family.  A few weeks ago we got the results back from the test that the baby is perfectly healthy in there which was a huge relief for me.   The Harmony test also shows the genetically the gender of our baby so we went ahead and did a small reveal party so we along with our parents and friends could find out the gender all together.  A nurse gave the results to my friend T so she could make us a cake but no one else there knew the results.  It was pretty fun!

We are so excited and feel so blessed to begin this new chapter (long chapter) in our lives. Baby Boy Wall will be joining us around July 24th and we can’t wait to meet him!  Thanks Lizzie for our awesome photos!

Gender Reveal

2 Responses to “Coming July 2016”

  1. Kendra G. March 4, 2016 at 3:36 pm #

    I can’t wait to meet baby boy Wall!! xoxoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. guest room to nursery | steelewall - July 11, 2016

    […] the midst of painting the space we also found out we were having a baby boy! Which helped us decide what would come next in the space to prepare for a baby boy! No more mint […]

Leave a Reply

