Babymoon <3

23 May

The last weekend in April Britton and I decided to go on a babymoon.  Originally we wanted to go to Charleston and Savannah but given my extra pregnancy weight and changing body we decided it would probably be too much to be walking around those cities for a long weekend.  So we opted for a more laid back location and booked a trip to Key West.

Due to some meetings in Gainesville that Friday we ended up driving only part of the way to the Keys and spent the first night in Miami.  I also didn’t want us doing the drive in the dark as I love the sites of Florida along that route.

Saturday morning, we were up early enough to do a little driving through Coral Gables before heading on our journey through the Florida Keys.  We also made a pit stop at Robert is Here for some milkshakes and entertainment!

20160430_161917736_iOS

Its pretty standard to hit a ton of traffic when leaving the mainland of Florida and this trip was no exception.  Nothing bothered me though because I knew we were headed to paradise.

20160430_175259099_iOS

Our first night in Key West we had to hit up Mallory Square for the chaos and to watch the sunset.  I had made reservations for dinner for after sunset and we had a lovely date night on the front porch of an old historic home refurbished into a restaurant called Bagatelle.  I could have eaten there every night but Britton held me back!

20160430_234915195_iOS20160430_235702261_iOS

On Sunday morning we headed back into town and checked out the southernmost point and strolled the quiet streets of historic key west.  I love all the wild chickens you see roaming the streets!

20160501_150008143_iOS

20160501_150228091_iOS

That afternoon we did a 3 hour kayak tour through the mangroves of the Florida Keys.  This was an AMAZING experience.  At first I wanted us to just rent kayaks and go on our own, but I am so glad we didn’t do that.  I was in heaven as our guide literally wove us through the mangroves to big salt ponds with all kinds of fish and sea creatures below us. I even got to hold a jelly called a Cassiopea!

20160501_181505793_iOS20160501_182045054_iOS

After kayaks we got ready and headed back to Historic Key West for a quick bite to eat before hopping on a ghost trolly tour.  I’m kind of a fan of learning about the eerie history of old historic towns so these tours are always first on my to do list!  We got to see the most haunted doll, called Robert the Doll in an old museum and learned about some of the Key West hauntings.  We had a blast but didn’t site any ghosts!

Our first evening and full day in Key West was so eventful it makes sense to me to share the rest in a second post.  We had so much fun and I can’t wait to share the rest!

Leave a Reply

