Monday, a fresh start

20 Jun

I started to write a Friday I’m in Love post last week and I came up at a loss.  My city, the city beautiful, the city I grew up in, was brutally attacked last Sunday morning. Everyone in the world knows all the news that plastered CNN, Fox News and local stations.  So it was hard for me to come up with my loves.  I spent the week alone while Britton traveled and every day I watched the news and talked with friends about what was happening.  But the person I wanted to talk with most was in Mexico, so far from my reality.

Yesterday at Church we held a special prayer service to pray for our city, for first responders, for the families and friends directly affected.  I found hope on Sunday.  I’m working towards peace.

So today after spending a lot of time grieving, and feeling anger this week I plan to start a new.  Find more things to love and appreciate.  People always say to find the good that comes from the tragedy and all week I think I’ve seen those things.  Over 5300 people were out to give blood THE DAY of the tragedy.  Counter protesters blocked grieving families from the negativity of a hateful group and over 55,000 people showed up at Lake Eola last night for a candlelight vigil.  And all over the world cities are standing beside our city, Orlando, to share their support and love for a community that has faced so much hardship.

These are the things that help me move forward.  To see the world throw their arms around our city to help bring us light in the face of darkness.  Our church put together a great list of ways we can support our community now in our time of need. There’s a lot we can do to continue to show the world that we are united. That love is love is love. That Orlando won’t live in fear.

I will be still. I will not fret. I will hope in the Lord.

2 Responses to “Monday, a fresh start”

  1. Joni June 20, 2016 at 2:38 pm #

    Lovely sweetie, just lovely. Be still, do not fret, hope in the Lord.

  2. Kendra G. June 20, 2016 at 2:57 pm #

    Beautiful. My spin instructor this morning reminded us that this is a new day and a new week and that was exactly what I needed to hear!

Leave a Reply

