Friday I’m Missing Grandma

15 Jul

20160710_191523000_iOS

Last weekend Britton and I went down to visit my aunt and uncle for a quick visit to say hi before the baby arrives. My grandma had made our baby a gift before she passed away 3 years ago.  I haven’t talked at all in my blog about my grandma but she meant a lot to me. She was a knitter. She knitted each of her grand kids baby blankets and knitted each of us a blanket when we got married. She was bale to give me mine at my wedding shower but died just days before we got married. Julia Jackson was an amazing woman. I still remember snack time as a kid, getting a small Tupperware with skittles between breakfast and lunch when we went to visit her. Every year for Christmas she made all her kids, grand kids and great grand kids cross stitched ornaments. All of mine go on a special tree every year during the holidays.

20160710_205151169_iOS

So, back to the point at hand. I found out a few weeks ago that my grandma made something for our baby before she died. My aunt said that two months before she passed away she began making the afghan blanket for our first child. We were no where near even thinking about kids as a couple but grandma planned ahead. She wanted us to have, for our baby, what she gave my mom and all of her kids for their babies. This blanket means more to me than anything we’ve gotten for our baby boy. I hope he cherishes it as much as I do.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

